Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Home is Where the Issues Are…

January 4, 2009 , , , , , , , ,

therapy_coachSo it’s 2009. 

Christmas is over, hangover’s gone, and anything but “PJ pants” will cut off my circulation.

And oh, I think I’m in love.  No wait…I think I’m “in like” with a sprinkle of love.  Well whatever, I haven’t figured it out, but 2008 was a milestone year.  A year in which I ran into an awesome guy (on the Internet), got to know him intensely (on the Internet), and whispered sweet nothings in his ear (on the Internet). 

That’s right, for all my man-searches, street-stalking, nights out and “right place, right time”-type efforts, the man of my dreams was always a few thousand miles away.

But I’m smiling.  Mostly because of this lovely era.  Like imagine if the very same man had been so far away in the 1920′s.  I’m sure I’d be on a farm somewhere in rural India, milking the goats whilst silently praying that my hips were inclined for childbirth. 

And for what even?  Well for the fate of being sold to an export-king, never knowing that the man of my dreams was really a world away.  And what about him?  A lifetime deprived of the goat-milkin’ gal he was meant for?  I pity the fool.

So I bow to the cyber-world…but where do I go from here?

Well my parents are busy planning my sister’s wedding, but they’re very aware that I’m still up for sale on the market.  They’re also aware that my price is falling fast (punishment for being an “elderly” girl of twenty-seven).  To be honest, fighting the “parental arm of pimping” is a struggle, one that I deal with daily.  Add that to the worry of keeping a “cyber prince” fully enthralled by my jpegs, and we have ourselves a challenge.

So I guess there’s plenty to blog about in 2009, except that…I won’t.  I’ll still be here of course, but not to exploit the “computer man”.  Instead you’ll find me buried in the past, busily examining Indian culture, various youthful traumas, and their connections to who I am today.

Once I dump all my issues here, the “cyber prince” will lift his restraining order (oh yes you will), and we’ll finally get to meet!

Now is that a plan or is that a plan?

Good then, I’ll see you soon…

letterr

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Yay!!! I get to be the first commenter on your blog. I’m so honoured, ladies and gentlemen…

ian in hamburg

January 4, 2009

I am very excited for this new blog of yours! I can’t wait to hear about all of your traumatic experiences. You are living the subject matter of many of my favorite books!

maleesha

January 4, 2009

I know I will enjoy learning more about you and your past experiences. I hope writing gives you as much enjoyment to you as it does for us to read your work. Happy 2009, Romi! :)

teeni

January 4, 2009

Yahoo for 2009 and your new blog! Nothing like digging up past youthful traumas (ugly glasses, bad mom hairdos etc.) and seeing how they impacted your life! :)

Black Coffee & Bourbon

January 4, 2009

Haha, awesome, can’t wait!

Leaf, probably...

January 4, 2009

Oooo…love your new place. Lovely header, too! This is all so very new and exciting, I can’t wait to read more – because after all, one person’s trauma is another’s amusement! Happy 2009, Romi!

2lazydogs

January 5, 2009

Sounds like a plan. Bring it! Don’t forget the new gym related stories ;) People falling off treadmills, class instructors falling off their little platform/stage, creepy, sweaty men….the possibilities are endless!

GYL

January 5, 2009

Came over from the other blog — loving the new look! :)

Chibi Jeebs

January 5, 2009

Happy New Year and Happy New Blog! I can’t wait to read about more of your adventures in Romi-land!

rambleicious

January 5, 2009

bring it on, baby. I had some traumas myself. It’s always better to read about someone else’s stuff than to remember your own.

Karen

January 5, 2009

Welcome back, welcome back, welcome back ….

thegirlfromtheghetto

January 5, 2009

Change can be good. I look forward to it.

Pure Evyl

January 5, 2009

Hello Romi. Happy 2009!! With my second wedding (yes, to the same woman) underway I am ready to take on 2009 with you in the blog world. I have been getting writing tips from…your writing source. I hope I can deliver. He has a lot of great writing information. We have all seen that you have an amazing talent for writing. I am also interested in hearing about your past and Indian Culture.

jcow81

January 5, 2009

ooh, ooh, ooh – I am soooo excited. Just noticed I am on your blog roll. Wicked! :)

GYL

January 5, 2009

I’m excited to hear some funny stories of your past.

Kerplar

January 5, 2009

Thanks for starting another blog Romi. I got a bit sad when I realized that you were abandoning the old one.

You were born to blog. In fact, I think you should have your own newspaper column. Also, thanks for keeping me in your blogroll.

Greg

January 5, 2009

Added to the feed reader, happily and excitedly. Looking forward to more, as always!

Taoist Biker

January 5, 2009

Wishing you all the BEST in this new adventure!

CuriousC

January 5, 2009

Woo-hoo, congrats on the new blog! I’m expecting a lot of awesome “Romi-ness” here.

duffboy

January 5, 2009

More adventures with Romi . . sounds like it’ll be a hell of a ride!

Red

January 5, 2009

Miss Romi…

1. Thanks for the blogrolling. I wuz wondering when you would link me back, sistah!

2. I’ll miss the man-hunt…but you are so damn funny I’ll love whatever you write. Maybe I’ll tone down my admiration of your flannel PJs a little so I can introduce the future Mrs. Nigel to your blog (she’s the jealous type).

Nigel

January 5, 2009

Happy New Year Romi. Your new blog is off to a fantastic start. I’m smiling too! Goat milk SUCKS!

I hope you and your parents come through the marriage struggle well. In fact, I hope it doesn’t turn into a struggle at all. It just should not be that way, and love is why. And love should trump any and all cultural traditions. So saith I.
:)

David

January 6, 2009

I seriously feel like you’re a friend I’ve known for years- my parents are Israeli, so I can totallt relate to 99% of the stuff you say. You rock! Cant wait to read!

geminigirl64

January 6, 2009

indian culture is sex.

toph

January 6, 2009

Good luck with this blog…and the relationship….some good ones have happened this way…as long as you two get to meet in person and meet each other’s family too as that can shed a lot of light on a person. Happy New Year!

Magik Quilter

January 7, 2009

Hey there! I love how you write implying that its ideal that your man is thousands of miles away, “the man of my dreams was always a few thousand miles away.” muah-ha-ha-ha! You have such a kick ass writing style; I always laugh! I’ve got you on my reader so I will be back when you update! Take care Romi!

JavaQueen

January 7, 2009

Woo, I can’t wait for another rocking year with you Romi! I’ll update my blogroll!

Emerald

January 7, 2009

Romi I’m so exicted that you are back!!!!! Woot woot love the new page. I’ve updated my blogroll! I’m ready for the 2009 posts to begin. Happy New Years Girl!

sammy25

January 7, 2009

ian in hamburg: wow, you hold the honour of first commenter ever! I don’t have a prize, but I am online smiling at you…will that suffice? :-)

maleesha: isn’t it funny how trauma can have some use later on as we re-tell it? I hope that ends up being the case here as well! ;-)

teeni: aww, thanks Teeni, that is so sweet! You know I do get enjoyment out of writing this, way more enjoyment than I got vs. living any of it, haha ;-)

Black Coffee & Bourbon: hahaha, you are so right! I never had the pleasure of wearing glasses myself, but I’m sure there’s a lot more ammo in my sordid past, haha ;-)

Leaf: thanks friend, Happy New Year!

2lazydogs: thank you so much for commenting on the look; coming from someone like you who is an artist, I really appreciate it! And happy ’09 to you too! :-)

GYL: haha, thanks So far the gym is going well, but I’ve only been three times, so we’ll see what ridiculousness happens…hey I’ll have to check out your page to see how that boot-camp is going ;-)

PS: no worries on the link, I love how you write!

Chibi Jeebs: I’m glad you came over for the ride, and thank you! :-)

rambleicious: thanks, and “Romi-land” is one effed-up amusement park, so I hope you can stomach it, haha ;-)

Karen: I am ALL about anyone getting enjoyment out of anything that happened to me, haha…it’s good therapy ;-)

thegirlfromtheghetto: awww, thank you! :-)

PureEvyl: yes, I hope change is good in this case too, thanks for coming along!

jcow81: Hello Justin, Happy New Year to you as well! I am so glad the new year got off to a kick-ass start for you, your wedding looked like it was BEYOND amazing, I’m so happy for you guys! :-)

PS: I’m so glad you have yourself a mission of sorts for writing in 2009; it’s so important to have direction and goals and an objective, that was something that this “writing source” you speak of helped me out with so much! In fact I am now running on blog #2 with his sage advice and belief in me. I feel so fortunate for that, and for you it’s the kind of thing that will help you soar to new levels, I know it! I look forward to seeing what you come out with in ’09…I am already a loyal fan ;-)

Kerplar: thanks, and I hope you had a good New Year’s and birthday! :-)

Greg: aww, you’re so sweet; yes the old one had run it’s course, but the link is still alive, and who knows…once I’m done with this one, I might have a sequel to that..lol ;-)

PS: no worries on the link, of course I would!

Romi

January 7, 2009

Taoist: thanks for the add, and I hope I don’t disappoint you! ;-)

CuriousC: thank you so much, and thanks for reading :-)

duffboy: thanks, and those are some hefty expectations, haha, I will try my best! :-)

Red: I hope it will be, thanks! :-) (and I’m so glad you’re back!…sorry I didn’t have you on my new blogroll but I literally couldn’t access your link, so it didn’t seem like anyone would be able to enjoy the archives…but now you’re back so I will put you back on STAT! )

Nigel: haha, you know I was looking at my new blogroll, and then at my old one thinking: how the hell did I forget to ever link you??!?! Oops, my bad ;-)

PS: I would love to be introduced to Mrs. Nigel, and there will be no flannel PJ pics on this site, so don’t worry, haha..

David: LOL…thanks, and I have never had goat milk, but someone tried to trick me into drinking it once while I was in India, haha, but I didn’t fall for it! ;-)

PS: aww…I love what you saith about love!!! (that was so grammatically wrong but I don’t care, it felt beautiful to say it ;-) )

geminigirl64: oh my gosh, you are so sweet to say that! I’m so glad to hear that you can relate, and…do you have a blog as well? I don’t see a link, but if you do let me know!:-)

toph: it sure is…if you’re like an advanced Kama-Sutra scholar that is, but I grew up in a Punjabi home…we folk are very conservative, and my parents still try to convince me I was born by their act of sitting in seperate beds while closing their eyes really hard for ten seconds and concentrating…haha ;-)

Magik Quilter: Hi there, and thanks for finding/reading my blog! (this one and the other one ) And thank you for the positive relationship thoughts, I really do hope it works out in the end :-)

Java Queen: thanks so much for your comments and praise, I hold it in high regard, you are seriously a great writer you know! :-)

Emerald: thanks dude! I freakin’ love you and I look forward to more of your great posts as well..hope you’re feeling better now! :-)

sammy25: haha, I love your enthusiasm, thank you! And Happy New Year to you as well :-)

Romi

January 7, 2009

Oh how I longed to see all the smilies in your comment reciprocation comments :) :) :)

Red

January 8, 2009

I hope you will meat this guy in real life very soon. The world is becoming smaller through the Internet. I am from Holland and have now a new sister in New York. It is so nice to make friends all over the world.

I cross my fingers for you and your prince.

Mario

January 10, 2009

This blog is a great read. :)

Anja

January 19, 2009

Romi, I’ve missed so much! I’m sorry! But I’m SO happy you’re so happy! xxx

Simonne

January 19, 2009

Red: Oh I am SO back on the smiley-train, I am gonna abuse those babies all year long, hahaha ;-):-) !

Mario: hi there and thanks for visiting. It is definitely nice to make friends all over the world, and congrats to you as well for having these connections :-)

Anja: aww..thank you, I’m glad you enjoy it :-)

Simonne: AHHHHH…don’t say sorry!!! I’m just smiling ’cause you’re back and updating yours again…and thank you! :-)

Romi

January 21, 2009

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

