Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

She Journeys to India…

March 26, 2009 , , , , , , , , ,

indiaflagBack in the day when I made all those trips to “Little India”, I always knew there was a bigger version of India (the real one), sitting somewhere far across the earth.

And at age fourteen I would see it for the very first time.

Before this trip I had never even sat on a plane.  The furthest I’d traveled to was Ottawa, Ontario.

And eight years later there was India (not what I would call a smooth transition!)

I missed five weeks of school during trip number one to India, something that resulted in a near failing grade in Science.

But that’s not the point. The point is I saw a lot of different things, things you never could have even guessed.  Some of it was fun and lots of it was weird.  But I never forgot one second.

And so…for the month of April you can join me, on a truly messed up back-track of  vintage India.

So there you are. Beginning April 2009…”The Awkward Chronicles of India”.

[I’ll still post one more time before the start of April, and for that I’ll tell you if the saree I bought ONLINE arrived, if I wore it to my friend’s wedding, if I sucked in my stomach enough, and if I even turned a head or two….(if none of the above occured, you can anticipate a weepy post)…]

Until then,

letterr8

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I cannot wait to visit India…vicariously of course! I hope we get to ride an elephant. I like the warning post though. I am expecting BIG things! I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself.

jcow81

March 26, 2009

Very exciting, and yikes lol, going from never flying to a hardcore 20 some hour long ride, well dayum. I fly A LOT, but even so a 10 hour plane trip resulted in my passing out….hopefully you had better luck!

Shweta

March 26, 2009

Sounds exciting, I await further posts. Who needs science anyways, though right? Oh yeah…scientists I guess.

Kerplar

March 26, 2009

This is a cool idea Romi- did you just go that one time, or have there been other visits? I look forward to reading about your adventures. 😉

JavaQueen

March 26, 2009

You’re going to India? I expect a postcard… Seriously.

bronsonfive

March 26, 2009

I’m positive you turned heads and I’m excited to hear about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am also so ready for April and your posts 🙂

sammy25

March 26, 2009

Looking forward to April and ‘our’ travels!

IdeaJump!

March 26, 2009

I’m going to Sri Lanka in June, so I am very interested to read about April’s travels.

Anja

March 27, 2009

I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go to India but I’m too scared to go anyplace where I can’t speak the language.
I want to know about the sari. I’ve always wanted one of those.

Wendy

March 27, 2009

I went to Tanzania, where my mum ws born when I was 15. Missed 6 weeks of school, but man, the things about the world I learned!

Looking forward to traveling with you 🙂

GYL

March 28, 2009

oooh .. how intriguing!
can’t wait .. im biting my nails in anticipation .. 🙂

Red

March 29, 2009

justin: hmm..I love how you’re expecting big things when I haven’t even thought about it or pre-written any posts..hmm…I’m kind of going to just open up my memory box and see what comes out, but then again that’s what this blog has mostly been 😉

Shweta: my luck on the plane was varied at best, but you will find out all about that, haha 😉

kerplar: ya, those nerdy scientists have nothing better to do, haha 😉

javaqueen: i went this first time when I was fourteen, and then again when I was twenty-five…let me tell you: HUGE difference between the two based on our age, hahaha…but I will describe the 2006 experience at some point too 😉

bronsonfive: you will seriously get a post-card…on that is posted on my blog…oh wait, maybe you can draw a post-card of me in India?? 😉

sammy25: oh my god I was only fourteen and so ugly so I assure you I did not turn heads, hahaha 😉

Ideajump: I’m glad you’re brave enough to come along for the ride, there will be some rough spots, haha 😉

Anja: I think you will find my India experiences strangely relevant and hopefully interesting 😉

Wendy: well I hope my post after this one told you a lot about sarees, haha…and don’t worry I will only write these India posts in English 😉

GYL: wow, you had almost the exact same experience as me in the mother-land (I was fourteen, it was five weeks…crazy! 😉 )

Red: don’t you bite those nails off anymore, we’ll be there soon 😉

Romi

April 4, 2009

Sorry I’ve been slow in getting over here to read but I have to set aside extra time for your posts because I don’t like to be rushed through them since I enjoy reading them so much! 🙂 Looking forward to hearing all about your trip and how the saree went.

teeni

April 22, 2009

