Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Way Too Much Naan, But I’m Back…

August 9, 2009 , , , , , , , , ,

Picture50 094A funny thing happened this Summer.

My sister’s wedding came and went in its grandiose, over-the-top Indian fashion, but then there was a series of ripple effects.

These came in the form of subsequent invites to other weddings, engagement parties, and just plain Indian parties. It was endless.

Yet another Indian wedding reception awaits me this Saturday. Do I know anyone at this wedding?

No.

Could I pick out the bride and groom in a lineup?

No.

Do I even have the slightest idea what the bride and groom’s names are?

Absolutely not.

And so, today I put my foot down. I explained to father dearest that if I have to put on one more saree this summer, if I have to line my stomach with one more piece of naan, or drench my intestines with one more tablespoon of butter chicken…heads…will…roll.

I can’t take it anymore. Just give me a fucking hot dog and a stroll along the breezy harbour front…this is Canada for goodness sake!

Of course, I say this with affection. Pretty soon I’ll be back to my usual love for the Indo-Canadian life.

I simply need some official de-tox. De-tox that I couldn’t find in the last four weeks that followed my sister’s wedding.

So that explains why it took me all this time to return.

Well, almost.

My other explanation is that damn “Year of the Chick” novel-in-progress. It’s August 9th, and it occurs to me that writing a novel is a hell of a lot of work. Like who has time to work a full-time job and write eighty thousand words? Seriously. But it’ll all be worth it in the end, right? Even if I don’t make millions off my “fictional” story?

Well no, it won’t be worth it at all.

I kid, I kid, it’s all about artistic expression, not the money! Blah-blah, so on and so forth. You know, I stillΒ  ask myself sometimes: “Self, what happens if you publish this explosive tale of shunning the arranged marriage concept (and falling for a sexy white cyber-dude), and it doesn’t even sell? Will the alienation of your entire family and Indian friends be worth it?”

Huh, what a question. I’ll let you know when I have an answer. In the meantime, I’ll keep my eye focused on finishing the tale, and convincing myself that it’s entirely fictitious.

But that’s not all, I’m also coming back to the blog! (that’s important to you, right? Essential to your happiness? Okay then, good.)

The truth is I need to come back, because between all the slave work of forcing myself to write seven thousand words a week for the rest of August (and then the psycho editing), I need another outlet. A few hundred words once a week just for fun…doesn’t that sound nice?

So I’ll be back for Sunday visits, because come on, my sister’s giant wedding and the weeks of my life it stole, has to be worth a few posts…at least.

And finally, for those who are still around, thanks for stayin’.

I’ll be back,

letterR2

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

good.

elannus

August 9, 2009

nice one…will be following your blog now so keep em coming πŸ™‚

The Burg

August 9, 2009

Nice to see you back. I’ve aged considerably since we last met.

Donald Mills

August 9, 2009

Hi Romi! Glad to see you back. πŸ™‚

JavaQueen

August 9, 2009

I’ve aged considerably too. πŸ™‚

But that’s OK. It was worth the wait. Besides, I followed you on Facebook too. What, no Twitter for Romi? YAY!

I knew you’d be back eventually. Me happy now. Whatever quantity of words per week you choose to throw our way will be just fine.

David

August 10, 2009

Ha! I keep getting younger! Thanks to your comments on my page while you were away. You keep me feeling fresh…like medicated powder baby!! I missed you. Very very lovely wedding pictures. And to answer your question, YES, your writing has become an essential tid-bit in my life. =)

Justin

August 10, 2009

yay – you’re back! ooh – you’re on facebook?

GYL

August 10, 2009

Woo, she’s back! πŸ˜€

Taoist Biker

August 10, 2009

Tell me when your book gets published, it will be my bible!!! I will slap it over the heads every white kid that asks me if I am having an arranged marriage! Glad to see you back! I was begining to feel like I was the only indian a-blogging!!

Shweta

August 10, 2009

Today is a great day! Welcome back!

OmegaRadium

August 10, 2009

I miiiiiiiisssssed yoooouuu!!!! Hey, if you’re in the mood for an all-Canadian binge, what say we go for poutine? Jes? Jes!

Emerald

August 10, 2009

nice to find you. i have some reading to do here…

Kim

August 11, 2009

Woo hoo!!! I missed you so much, my little Romilita! Welcome back.

Now sign up for Twitter and make my life complete.

Daddy Dan

August 11, 2009

oh Romi! The photos of your sis’ wedding were fantastic! You are beautiful. and funny, of course. Good luck with the book and glad you are back, my dear!

Care

August 12, 2009

I’m torn between encouraging/demanding/begging you to blog and encouraging/demanding/begging to write your book. Either way…a win for me πŸ™‚

Allison

August 12, 2009

Welcome baaaaaaaaaack!

Jen512

August 12, 2009

So glad to have you back! πŸ™‚

Duffboy

August 15, 2009

elannus: I’m glad it’s good, thanks πŸ™‚

Burg: thank you, I will try to keep it comin’ even if it’s only once a week! πŸ™‚

Donald Mills: you still look mighty fine to me, and someone sent me your link previously, telling me it’s so damn funny I have to check it out. I did check it out and I loved it, so it’s fate you found me…I’ll be over to yours again, no matter how old you get πŸ˜‰

JavaQueen: hey, nice to see you also, and I do hope you’re well πŸ™‚

David: HAHA…a week ago I was gonna say “damn right no twitter for me!”, but now…alas, that is not the case πŸ˜‰ And thanks for being okay with my quantities πŸ™‚

Justin: HAHAHA…no one has ever told me I make them feel like medicated powder before! πŸ˜€ …well I am glad to hear it, and I’ve missed your writing too..need to pop by, speaking of which πŸ™‚

GYL: ya, i’m on facebook AND on twitter, check me out lady! πŸ˜‰

Taoist Biker: woo yourself, nice to see you again πŸ™‚

Shweta: you are not the only Indian blogging, and if only I could finish the damn book I could worry about getting publishing, but that’s a bit off far yet πŸ˜‰

omegaradium:
was it really a great day for you? Or are you just saying that???? Thanks πŸ˜€

Emerald:
mmm…I love me a good poutine, I can’t remember the last time I had one…mmm…cheesy good poutineness… πŸ˜‰

Kim: hi there! Well thanks for stopping in, I’m glad you enjoyed this and I hope you keep reading πŸ™‚

Daddy Dan: FINALLY I signed up to twitter!!! Are you proud of me??? πŸ™‚

Care: thanks so much for the well wishes and kind words, I appreciate it so much! πŸ™‚

Allison: it’s nice whenever you can find a win-win, and likewise, your blogging rocks πŸ™‚ You should be writing a book too! πŸ˜‰ But now for me it is a lose-lose, there is just no time for anything!! ARGH…

Jen512: THANK YOU, it is good to be back! πŸ™‚

Duffboy: THANK YOU my friend, I hope all is well with you!!

Romi

August 17, 2009

Yay, your back!

Kerplar

August 17, 2009

My dear when you book comes out this boy will be the first in line to purchase it! If I had to guess you will have a New York Times Best Seller and it will eventually become a movie…then you will have to move to Hollywood which could only inspire a ton more blog posts. WOOT WOOT! I just want you to know I will eventually have to send you my book so that you may sign it for me when…especially when you make it big! Glad you’re back oh how I’ve missed you!

sammy25

August 19, 2009

Glad you a back blogging Romi! Looks like you had a very eventful summer. Yours was full of naan while mine was full of newborn baby diapers. You win.

Black Coffee & Bourbon

August 26, 2009

Thank goodness you are back. I feel like everything is getting back to normal now. I am serious about a autographed copy of your book. πŸ˜‰

Will

August 27, 2009

Aww…Will, thanks! I feel better too being around my bloggy friends….PS: a signed copy is yours for sure, but the hunt to find an agent who likes it is first up…we’ll see how that goes πŸ˜‰

Romi

September 1, 2009

