Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

It Was a Dream So It’s Okay

February 22, 2010 , , , , , , , ,

The limbic system is a cocky bastard.

That section of the brain is the most important factor in the dreaming process (I know this because Google doesn’t lie). Dreams are the biggest free pass when it comes to insanity. Your dreams can include exponentially crazy things, but because it wasΒ  a dream you either don’t remember, hardly remember, or shake it off by mid-afternoon. The limbic system can do no wrong.

But what if God, or the sky, or the human-making-factory switched it up? What if your dreams are normal, whilst your everyday, ‘when-you’re-supposed to-be-listening’ musings are incredibly off?

That’s me, every freakin’ minute of the day.

Oh sure, I can put on an act and contribute to society. In fact I’m relatively normal in phone calls, at the office, and in mind-numbing chit-chat with neighbours. But the buzzing in my brain never stops: like the pro’s and cons of having curled-over nails (PRO: lock-picking abilities, CON: inability to give out massages, or PRO: an excuse to never give out massages), whether or not there would be war if unicorns existed, and if Jell-O is in fact made of people…these are the thoughts that keep my cerebrum going.

Meanwhile, I wake up from my sleep with pillow held tight, reflecting back on dreams involving tax returns, the flu, and taking out the garbage a minute too late.

Like excuse me limbic system, that’s the best you’ve got?

Because of this topsy-turvy circumstance, I’m a little afraid that I’ll one day fail a psych test, and wind up in a mental hospital for life. This fear was strengthened by watching SHUTTER ISLAND last night. It wasn’t the prospect of lobotomies that scared me, but the crazies in the movies had their ankles shackled up, whilst carrying on with light-to-moderate gardening.

But what if I don’t want to water the geraniums or rake the grass? Like they can’t just force me to garden because I’m legally insane, that’s madness!

So screw you, psych ward, I’ll stay safe in my new blog and let the crazies run free…

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Oh Romi, your mind never fails to amaze me and make me laugh whether your dreaming or awake. Personally I have had some of the most amazing dreams ever. Some of them I remember forever and others just flutter quickly through my memory. I had one last week that could have been a movie of the week but I have totally forgotten it. The life that I live and think of as reality is somewhat mundane and boring and what I consider my dream life is very exciting. Now you have me wondering which is real. Maybe I really am young, thin and beautiful surrounded by handsome men. Maybe I really am a chubby old lady who likes to take photos of dumbasses. Either way, there is one thing I’m certain about. I’m crazy and I find being crazy to be a very good thing. Keep writing. You’re very good at it.

joanharvest

February 22, 2010

Ah Joan, you are so sweet…I frickin’ love you! πŸ™‚ Also, this whole thing reminds me a bit of that movie “Surrogates” with Bruce Willis (which I thought was going to be HORRIBLE, but actually wasn’t so bad. Anyway, in this futuristic world, people have like these sexy, invincible, good-looking robot versions of themselves that go out into the world, while the actual person lays in a chair hooked up to a computer all day, controlled their “robots” movements and speech, and “acting” as them. Weird, huh? πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

Yeah, that cliched stereotype of the mentally ill is still quite popular in movies, unfortunately. And it does create paranoia in the minds of viewers.

That’s a fascinating post–that is interesting how you “dream in reverse”! My dreams are quite normal (i.e. surreal to the max). But I’m happier in my dream-lives than in my real life. And I dream so vividly, that it’s an everyday nightmare to wake up and adjust to reality–it’s almost like being born.

Good to see a new post–I love your blog!

Scott

February 22, 2010

” dream so vividly, that it’s an everyday nightmare to wake up and adjust to reality–it’s almost like being born.”

Wow…that’s such a cool way to think about it! πŸ™‚ And thanks for always stopping by my blog, I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

Romi

February 24, 2010

I saw Shutterbug last night and was so depressed afterwards, we had to eat a pizza to comfort our souls. Dreams….I had some doozies last night…don’t know if it was the feta or Leo…

marcie

February 22, 2010

Marcie, it could’ve been Leo OR the feta! And Pizza always comforts my soul as well πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

yeahy!!! blog on baby!

geminigirl64

February 22, 2010

I’m gonna blog on like it’s 1999! And seriously, reading your kick-ass blog made me realize what I’d been missing with the extended break πŸ™‚

Romi

February 24, 2010

Welcome back!! πŸ™‚

Corra

from the desk of a writer

Corra McFeydon

February 22, 2010

Thank you Corra! And I see you have moved to WordPress; I will update me blogroll for the right link when I get a sec πŸ™‚

Romi

February 24, 2010

Thanks so much!! I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

Corra McFeydon

February 28, 2010

+1, she’s back! Wooo!

Taoist Biker

February 22, 2010

Damn right I’m back! Hide your sons! (no wait…what?)

Romi

February 24, 2010

You are totally insane. And I love you.

Maren

February 22, 2010

I frickin’ love you too sweet Maren, and feel fortunate that you’ll have me, even as my crazy self! πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

Bravo for returning to your bloggy ways! Me? I stay away from gardening altogether, just to stay on the safe side… in case anybody’s watching/reviewing my gardening skills πŸ˜‰

duffboy

February 22, 2010

Never let them see you with a rake! πŸ˜‰ And seriously, thanks for all the support in this blogging journey, you are awesome! πŸ™‚

Romi

February 24, 2010

OMG you are insane!! But, at least you are funny too. Just don’t let any potential suitors see this site before you get married. Afterward, he’ll figure it out on his own eventually! LOL Great post sweetie. πŸ™‚

Wiggy

February 22, 2010

Hahaha thanks πŸ™‚ …can you image if any suitors happened upon this and realized that the “normal” me was really a total freak-show? πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

It’s so good to see you back here Romi! What a great topic to start off with. Or with which to start off I should write …

That thin film between the dream and the real. Bubbles are thin films too, and they’re all rainbow-y like. That means something I bet!

I’m not going to see Shutter Island cause I think the title really sucks. As a photographer I resent it. Nothing against Leonardo, he’s turned out to be an OK actor after all. I’m never gonna see Titanic though, for similar reasons. Scared of ships and icebergs and stuff.

And they BETTER not diss gardening. 😦

David

February 22, 2010

Wow…look at you and your fancy grammar, love it! πŸ˜€ Oh my gosh, I think I’m going to have to blog about the thin rainbow-film of bubbles, that fascinated me ever so much as a child! PS: Shutter Island was pretty long, but good I think. But I totally understand the offense to you πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

Lol, so I guess we know how the movie might end…..? Glad to see you back πŸ™‚

Grumpy

February 23, 2010

NO, you do NOT know where the movie ends! I specifically mentioned a scene that was already in the commercial and trailer, so as not to give anything away πŸ˜‰ (and also it fit into the theme of my post, so it all worked out…haha)

Romi

February 24, 2010

I think you may be the funniest person I know.

And for your amusement, last night I dreamed I was a contestant on American Idol. And I have no musical ability whatsoever. But the really funny part is that the dream was more about me falling in love with one of the other contestants. I didn’t even go onstage to sing. I’m hoping tonight I get my chance to go before Randy and Simon. I could care less about Cara and Ellen.

rachelhamm

February 24, 2010

I am NOT the funniest person you know, I can guarantee you that, but gosh, you are so darn sweet and supportive, thanks πŸ™‚ x
And WOW…so you don’t even care about the singing eh? Dream-Rachel is only focused on the “idol men”…haha πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

I’m glad to see you back. Seriously, I don’t know how you come up with these great, original posts all the time but am glad you do.

bluesuit12

February 24, 2010

You are so sweet! It means a lot to me, so thanks πŸ™‚ Seriously, after a long blogging break you have to stop for a while and think about the “reason for being”…I hope to have a lot of fun with this one so we’ll see what happens!

Romi

February 24, 2010

I like the new look. Always entertained by your words (and crazy reality)

Care

February 24, 2010

I’m glad you like the new look, thanks! πŸ™‚ And thanks for always coming back to deal with my craziness among other things…haha

Romi

February 24, 2010

It’s nice to have you back babe!

sammy25

February 24, 2010

Thanks! I am back to blogging and back to reading! Will swing by your place soon πŸ˜‰

Romi

February 24, 2010

I know I’m too fat for a rickshaw because the last time I squeezed myself into a high chair (there was no place else to sit!) it stuck to my ass when I stood up. I hate when that happens.

Wendy

February 25, 2010

I rarely get any REM sleep, so I have dreams like 3 times a year. My sleep study showed I had REM four times a night at an average of 9 minutes each period. I used to have wonderful dreams, but after coming down w/Fibromyalgia and Sleep Hypopnea, my sleep habits are incredible sucky. I am envious of all of you who can dream, even if they involve tax returns.

Glad to see you back!

thegirlfromtheghetto

February 26, 2010

Aha, you’re back. My head was spinning by the time I finished reading. Now I’ll never look at dreams the same way again.

bisiadjapon

February 27, 2010

Your new blog looks great by the way. Forgot to say that before.

Your limbic system post reads so Wiggy! You too should open an editorial e-zine together. πŸ˜‰

Good stuff!

Corra

from the desk of a writer

Corra McFeydon

February 28, 2010

too = two

Corra McFeydon

February 28, 2010

