Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Are You a Moron? The Internet Can Help…

March 2, 2010 , , , , , , , , ,

Just when I thought the Internet couldn’t possibly be more useful, it’s now lending help to our conversation skills. And not the sort of skills you can develop through an actual personality, but the superficial stuff of discussing all things Hollywood. This glitter-rich topic will help you land some real-life (wait for it)…acquaintances!

You may not even be aiming for acquaintance-development. Maybe you’re one of those people who likes to break the ice on an elevator ride. And who wouldn’t love a person like you? I mean here I was just hoping to get from one floor to the next, but now you’ve shared your thoughts on the “Tiger Woods entourage of whores”. With a starter like that I’ll open my mouth to reply, and maybe even smile at you too!

And there you have it, a human connection borne from headlines.

This offering by Yahoo! will also help people switch to zombie-mode in meaningful relationships. Like maybe before you would’ve tapped into your wit or expressed some real emotion, but now your brain can rest while the TMZish spewage does the work.

The thing that excites me most, is where this Yahoo! assisted-education could lead. I am currently envisioning a tutorial on how to tie my shoes (like when was the last time I wasn’t intimidated by laces?).Β  I could also use some help in learning how to quickly count my change, for the everyday but high-stress purchasing experience.

And the life-saving lesson I could really use the most?

-Dear Yahoo!: you know when that “Hot Surface” stove light turns on? I’m not really sure what to do there, you know, “touch or don’t touch” wise…

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Wait. What? I are not. Google me now! There I was. Ouch! You can’t stand it. Me 2!

David

March 2, 2010

OMG, get off the Internet David! Your smartz is disappearing!!

Romi

March 9, 2010

I knew there was a reason I liked google better, but it’s escaping me now…

rachelhamm

March 2, 2010

Haha…if only we could remember…and gosh, I am boring myself just typing this πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

I wonder what Sandra Bullock has to do with that. Does she need help in that department?

Maren

March 2, 2010

Perhaps Sandra Bullock was the topic of the day…well anyway she is definitely the topic of THIS day…Yahoo! must be buzzing πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

I need help with writing comments on people’s blogs. Do you think you can help me with that. I hate being nice when the writing sucks. Thank God your writing is brilliant. This post. You could be me! LOL This is straight out of Wiggy’s Words of Wisdom! You are lucky you posted this tonight. πŸ˜‰

Wiggy

March 2, 2010

By the way I am changing my avatar to the same one as yours, just so you know…

Romi

March 9, 2010

When all else fails in a conversation just say to the person you’re chatting with, “How about that local sports team?” That is sure to keep things moving. Although I am not sure that this tact would be Yahoo! approved or wise in a city that is home to the Leafs as it could lead to depression. *Shrug*

Black Coffee & Bourbon

March 2, 2010

If I hadn’t been so dumbed-down by the Internet I would show some emotion at your Leafs stab…but as it is? Carry on πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

You should become a Flyers phan! I think you might have enough pent up rage to pull it off. Do you hate Santa Claus? LOL

Wiggy

March 2, 2010

I also hate the Easter Bunny and babies…lol πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

So… have you heard about John Mayer’s controversial racial/penis references in his Playboy Interview? Hey, how about the Jackson 5 reunion tour? Are we talking now? πŸ˜‰

duffboy

March 2, 2010

OMG…this is the best conversation EVER!!! πŸ˜€

Romi

March 9, 2010

Don’t get me started on that producer lady pulling a Kanye during the Oscars! πŸ™‚

duffboy

March 9, 2010

and this post is the reason I lllloovveee you! I know it would never work because I’m gay and I believe you parents wouldn’t approve of me but marry me Romi!

sammy25

March 3, 2010

oh my gosh, maybe I can lead in with you though; “Mom, dad, I’m going to marry a gay dude…what’s that? I can’t hear you over the screams…oh I was kidding he’s not gay, just not Indian”…lol πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

I think we could make it barring my Indianless status hahahahahahahahahah

sammy25

March 10, 2010

That’s quite a shallow ad! I guess shallow people need love too–if you can call it “love”!

Scott

March 3, 2010

Everybody needs somebody to love, even if it is fake and based on paper-personalities πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

Ha, you’re back!!! I’m excited…I’ve missed stalking this blog…

Shweta

March 4, 2010

Indeed I am back and here to stay..stalk away! πŸ˜‰ And thanks, glad you like the header πŸ˜€

Romi

March 9, 2010

I like the header as well

Shweta

March 4, 2010

Hey, Romi,

I gotta agree that we take things to a ridiculous level. Guess some of this stuff happens though because there’s a market for it. Think they decide what to write on next based on the number of clicks for silly how-to articles? Hmmm…

Joy

March 6, 2010

I’m sure click-rate is a factor, but are people dumb enough to click? Like I got everything I needed to know from the home page and ran away as fast as I could πŸ˜‰

Romi

March 9, 2010

I love how a technology that creates lack of communication can help show a person how to have better conversation. What a joke.

thegirlfromtheghetto

March 8, 2010

Haha, you encapsulated that perfectly! πŸ™‚

Romi

March 9, 2010

