Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Grateful Moment #3: NO Bowl Haircut!

August 22, 2010 , , , , , , , ,

If you’re an adult with a bowl haircut, I hope it was an accident. If it wasn’t an accident and you’re proudly shaking your bowl hair at me right now, then don’t read this blog anymore.

As for the rest of you, we are all grown adults, but the danger of a bowl haircut is all around us.

To start, cereal bowls can be found in every house. So can scissors. In other words the two needed weapons are in arm’s reach EVERY day, should a family member want to screw you over in your sleep.

And then there’s the frightening risk each time you go to a salon. Some people trust their hairdressers with their lives. I absolutely do not. Every time I’m in that chair, I suspect she’ll try to give me “the bowl”, just because I’m younger and prettier than her. Whatever. And hairdressers are so damn trained, that they don’t even need a real bowl to execute the cut! They could pull it off freehand and you may not even know until the last chop is made.

That is scarier than an STD, and no one’s even made a movie on it yet? (“You Gave Me “The Bowl” Last Summer“…)

So please feel grateful for your hairstyle, even if it’s greasy and ghetto-ass.

And definitely sleep with one eye open…

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

“but the danger of a bowl haircut is all around us.”
Hahahahahahah 🙂

KaPau!

August 23, 2010

Laugh now, but the morning you wake up with “the bowl” it won’t be so funny.

Romi

August 30, 2010

Why do I have a feeling that this hair style will come back into popularity at some point? Hopefully mine will have fallen out by then.

morethananelectrician

August 23, 2010

If the bowl haircut becomes popular I will join the resistance and/or jump off a cliff.

Romi

August 30, 2010

What inspired this little tirade against china-shaped haircuts? Did Romi find a picture of herself as a little girl crying her eyes out due to a homemade haircut? I’m so sorry, friend. I know how traumatic those can be.

Rachel

August 23, 2010

Haha…I indeed had a bowl haircut in childhood, a horrifying shaky bowl…it was shiny though.

Romi

August 30, 2010

“Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the hairdressers…”

The Bowl

Yes, yes, yes and yes. We need this film. Now.

bigwords88

August 23, 2010

Do we have any producers for this movie yet? I’ll put in whatever money I have.

Romi

August 30, 2010

Growing up I always felt sorry for kids with the bowl cut, and that’s saying something considering I had a sweet Sicilian fro.

Black Coffee & Bourbon

August 23, 2010

HAHAHA…can I see a picture? 🙂

Romi

August 30, 2010

No. They have all been destroyed. 😉

Black Coffee & Bourbon

August 31, 2010

I hate bowl haircuts even on kids, but especially on bowls…

Jackie (WritRams)

August 23, 2010

it’s so much worse on grown-ups indeed; sometimes I imagine if my boss got a bowl haircut…they’d still be my boss, but how do I not slap them/laugh/point?

Romi

August 30, 2010

No bowl haircuts in my life. No, No, No! I would never date anyone with a bowl haircut (if I dated), I would never let my daughter date someone with a bowl haircut (if she wasn’t married), and I never let my son have a bowl haircut (thanks goodness he never wanted one). That pretty much covers the topic of bowl haircuts in my life.
I started blogging again. I finally have more time now that Little Miss Lilah is getting older.

joanharvest

August 23, 2010

I’m so glad you’re getting back to blogging! 🙂

And I like you even more now that you’ve confirmed your family members are all free of bowls.. 🙂

Romi

August 30, 2010

My goodness is that a gabulous picture. Is that Jack-in-the-Box wearing a wig?

Let’s put the best bowl to a vote:

Best bowl cut in a movie ever – Dumb and Dumber or that Javier Bardem character?

The Girl from the Ghetto

August 24, 2010

I felt that the jack ‘n the box in a bowl cut would be much more worthy of nightmares than a child, and that’s the only real solutions: bowl nightmares to help you sleep with one eye open!

Romi

August 30, 2010

In my youth, these were called “Beatle haircuts”. My barber was instructed to give me the crew cut with the front cowlick propped up with a few strokes of a red-colored pomade stick. I was cute as a button. Though today Hester asked me what’s so cute about buttons anyway? I wonder …

Nowadays the lack of hair on my head would suggest wearing the bowl as a more practical option.

Romi dear, I only hope this post is not an indication that you’re thinking of trying out a pixie do for yourself. Unless you’re donating your gorgeous locks to some worthy cause I say DON’T DO IT! Have someone photoshop it for you first. You’d probably look, erm, cute as a button . . .

David

August 25, 2010

That’s true! When has a button ever been cute to me? Mostly buttons are just non-committal a-holes, in that they fall off whenever they feel like, leaving you with a broken shirt and a whole lotta inconvenience.

I am actually not as disturbed by your childhood haircut as I am by the mention of the sinister buttons. Hmm…a new enemy, me thinks.

Romi

August 30, 2010

So we don’t have to worry about you chopping off your luxurious mane, then?

David

August 31, 2010

No, I shan’t chop off the mane David, not sure of its’ luxuriousness though 😉

Romi

September 6, 2010

Haircuts? What are those? I think I remember needing a chop in my teens–but never involving a bowl though.

Slamdunk

August 29, 2010

the more people who have never had a bowl, the more chance our society has of avoiding apocalypse.

Romi

August 30, 2010

