Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Happy ValentiMe’s Day, With a “Year of the Chick” Prequel!

February 14, 2012 , , , , , , , , , ,

I will get to that image on your left in a moment, but first we must ease our way in…

…Remember when you were young, and how if you said words incorrectly like “ValentiMe’s,” everyone thought you were cute instead of an absolute moron?

Remember even earlier than that (probably not), when fat rolls on your wrists were revered as symbols of baby-prosperity? (I’m pretty sure it followed the same philosophy as those tribes in Africa, where the more brass rings you wore to elongate your neck, the higher your status amongst the tribe (replace brass neck-rings with baby wrist fat-rolls, and the analogy is complete)).

I don’t know why this post began with nostalgia in the realm of speech impediments and fat rolls, but having a crazy blog means you never have to answer why. And lately I don’t get to post here as often as I’d like! So you can imagine how my brain is brimming with pent-up insanity.

Like that dream I had Saturday night.

This is a true story (true within the dream anyway):

-I had to get my drivers’ license renewed, but for some reason I was in Buffalo, New York, even though as most regular readers know, I’m Canadian. Also it was eleven o’ clock at night, and I was waiting for the DMV to open (what?!). Meanwhile, an Indian man was running through the parking lot wielding a snowbrush.  As a weapon. He tried breaking into cars with his snowbrush but…it was a plastic snowbrush. I ran him over with my car as he screamed.

And that’s the dream.

I have my own interpretation of that dream, but you should all be allowed to use your imaginations, so have fun with that.

Now, on to business.

And by business I mean my dream.

And by dream I mean the thing I’ve been slowly chipping away at night after night and weekend after weekend, and it’s actually turning into life (hooray!).

Item 1: I had a two-week blog tour hosted by ChickLitPlus, and let me just say that the woman running it is a tireless machine of awesome. There is NO WAY I could have corralled twelve book bloggers into reviewing my book and letting me do SEVEN guest posts within a two-week period all on my own. Not only that but she was friendly, kept me updated often, and took all the stress out of the entire thing. Also, she’s an author too (see here)…I’m uncertain as to how she does it all (alien?). Based on what I’ve said, I will definitely do a blog tour for the sequel if she’ll have me. Here’s a link to my blog tour page on her site, which includes all the links to the reviews and guest posts (yes, I was a busy guest blogger when I wasn’t here).

Item 2: Today I released a short story prequel to “Year of the Chick.” When I first thought about a short story, it was just for the sake of writing something new, but it turned out to serve a big purpose. The story provides great insight into what the character from “Year of the Chick” was like before the actual novel. It also provides some basis for what happens in the sequel. Best part: this short story of 10K words will be FREE on Amazon tomorrow! It’s my ValentiMe’s gift to you, so beginning at 2am Eastern time tonight, help yourself to a download!

Item 3: When I self-published, I knew it meant I wouldn’t be having big events in big bookstores. But did that really mean I couldn’t have a big event? HELL NO. Due to some clever brainstorming, networking, and an affinity for Carrie Bradshaw’s book launch parties, I’ll be having my own book party that’s hosted by a night club in Toronto! The flyer they made for me is the image to the right, and a link to the full-size version on the fan page is located here. I’m telling you all of this in case a writer or a dreamer happens upon this post; I’m telling you this to say: just because self-publishing starts off by making you the tiniest little sardine in an ocean of expansive whales (i.e. whales being the bestselling authors—holy analogies today!), it doesn’t mean you can’t have a big “Under the Sea” party, like how Sebastian did in “The Little Mermaid.” Ahem. So never stop dreaming of big giant things. Mmkay? Okay.

That’s all for today; I’m really glad I got the chance to blog again and be a little weird. It was needed.

I’m not sure how much I’ll blog in the next month, since I’m taking a week off in early March, to shut myself indoors and write as much of the sequel as I can. I have been waiting to write the sequel since I finished writing the screenplay (which the sequel is based on), so umm…I CAN’T FRICKIN’ WAIT!

I’ll resurface in March to let you know how it was; I may have gone completely mad by then.

In the meantime, hope your 2012s are going well so far!

Toodles,

R

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

My 2012 is going great so far, too bad about the end of the world come December. Whatev. At least I can start selling my designer apocalypse souvenirs. Peter Parkour designed my fave, it’s a snow globe with nothing in it. Except for the snow. Duh!

Happy Valentine’s Day my lovelorn blogbuddy, and I only wish that I travelled, socialized, danced and drank so as to attend your book bash at Cheval. Oh wait, I do drink, so I’ll hoist one in your honor at the appropriate time. Glad I already got my signed copy of YOTC! I hope somebody gets some video footage for YouTube!

David

February 14, 2012

Hi David, that snow globe sounds eerie and frightening 😉 Also, sorry I’ve been so slow on catching up with comments!

Romi

February 29, 2012

So glad to hear of your continued success! Catch some of that lighning in a bottle for me, will you?
I’m still not ready to self-publish, but the day is fast approaching!
I hope I can be as happy as you someday!

The Hook

February 14, 2012

I’m excited to hear about your future plans to self-publish! If you ever have any questions you can email me at romimoondiwriter@gmail.com

Romi

February 29, 2012

Thanks for the shout out Romi! And I’m so excited for the prequel 🙂 Wishing you much success!
– Your alien friend, Samantha 🙂

chicklitplus

February 14, 2012

Haha, thanks alien friend 😉

Romi

February 29, 2012

