Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Two Days ‘Til the Big Move to Paris (cue: AHHHHH!)

April 30, 2013 , , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALast time I wrote I was doing a little dance about quitting my job and moving to Paris.

Today I come to you as someone who’s officially left the corporate world, and all the Mad-Man-esque glamour it brings (I’m actually “glamming” up the truth, since I used to work at the head office of Canada’s biggest retailer…a.k.a. the ANTI-glam zone).

So…it’s been three business days since I’ve worked in an office.

And I never know what day it is.

And I’ve been wearing yoga pants almost exclusively.

And the last time I picked up a hairbrush is debatable.

And it’s been the best three days of my life!!!

Meanwhile, the move to Paris from May to October looms large, much like the Marshmallow Man in Ghostbusters…but in a good way (i.e. when I was a child and I saw Ghostbusters, all I wanted to do was consume the Marshmallow Man, even though he was technically a villain. Paris ain’t no villain at all, but my desire to consume it is equally large).

So…May to October. So…today is April 30th. Which means I’m leaving in two days!

I already did the obllgatory scream in the post title, so let’s get down to business.

Following some preparatory shopping last month (since things on sale equal money saved on this writer’s budget), yesterday I layed out everything I would like to bring to Paris. It looked like this:

packing

After posting  this catastrophe on my Facebook page, I received a lot of great advice, like rolling up my clothes and sticking to the basics (thanks guys!). I also received some doses of realism. Like: why the hell am I bringing a bunch of books which take up way too much space and weight? Or do I seriously need to bring fourteen pairs of shoes? Or honestly, how many friggin’ scarves am I actually going to wear?

Everyone was right, except…

1. The books with the pretty pictures (i.e. art books, a book on the hidden gardens of Paris) won’t look good on my Kindle! Plus there’s something wrong about reading Plato’s “The Republic” on a Kindle…actually I’d feel most authentic if I read it on a crusty yellowed scroll, but a paper book will just have to do

2. Different shoes go with different outfits! Don’t even try to make me explain this (I’m looking at you, men)

3. A writer in Paris needs a scarf.  And I will be a writer in Paris for a lot of days. C’est tout.

4. I’m really, really stubborn

With stubbornness and excuses in hand, I set about cramming that mountain of stuff into one suitcase, a big-ass backpack, and a carry-on. And, after a few tiny concessions, I did it!

packing done

I know what you’re thinking: “Good luck closing that suitcase, Sally.”  First of all, give me a chance, and second of all, do I LOOK like a Sally? So here’s the proof, I really, actually, did it:

packing closed

Now let me admit the concessions I made:

-A big bottle of body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and one pair of short little boots

I don’t know what I was thinking buying a giant bottle of lotion and full-sized shampoo and conditioner just for the trip, but there goes $30 of writer budget that’s not coming with me. Serves me right for being such a control freak, when there are obviously wonderful health and beauty products in Paris, maybe even the best in the world! And sure, so I WON’T get to luxuriously drench myself in body lotion the second I arrive…I’m pretty sure I’ll be just fine. As for the short little boots, they would’ve been perfect with one of my skirts and the purple or bright teal tights I’m bringing with me (yes, teal tights! Because in Paris, you can!), but I’m sure I can find the equivalent in H&M Paris or whatever. It’ll be fine! So here I am, at the end of my “control-freakism.” Time to let Paris mellow me out…

(By the way: I still get to bring all my books and my scarves, rejoice!!)

Alright then, two days to go, so it’s time to focus on a safe and delay-free arrival! After that, I’ll be bringing you all my confessions of a chick direct from the city Paris…hope you can handle it.

A bientot,

letterR2

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Safe travels. I can’t wait to read about your next adventure!

Laura Chapman

May 1, 2013

Thanks Laura, can’t wait to write it!

Romi

May 1, 2013

You are so brave and there are so many nosy questions I want to ask! You are going to have such an adventure and we get to go along via this blog! After this adventure, if you want the antithesis to Paris, come visit me – we have a spare room 😉

Grumpy

May 1, 2013

Oooh nosy questions! Well you can email/direct message me those questions anytime ;-). And who knows, I might indeed want an antithesis!

Romi

May 1, 2013

I just hope you weighed your suitcases! Remember the overweight luggage charges can be as much as the airline ticket.Unless you are flying on an airline that doesn’t charge extra, in which case, you can probably fit the boots into one of the outside pockets of the big suitcase. OK that’s the only sensible advice I’m giving you, now have a safe trip and have the time of your life!!!

Marla

May 1, 2013

Hi Maria, that’s very sensible advice! 🙂 I definitely weighed everything and it’s not over (phew!), I just can’t physically cram those boots in at this point, haha, oh well!

Romi

May 1, 2013

Such portentous confessions here, yoga pants, non-brushing of the hair, not sure what day it is … and … you wanted to CONSUME the Marshmallow Man?!?!

OMG Sally! And yeah, if I didn’t already know your name was Romi, I’d say you could easily pass for a Sally. A brown and stubborn Sally at that. The best kind of Sally.

So sally forth my friend, and please keep in touch!

David

May 1, 2013

It’s only the beginning of my confessions, just wait and see ;-). And I will definitely keep in touch, speak soon!

Romi

May 2, 2013

How incredibly exciting! I can’t wait for the 3rd book, the sooner you get it out, the sooner I buy it and support your bid to stay in Paris, if you so choose. I also find it excrutiatingly amusing that you leave just as the Leafs make the playoffs for the first time in 9 years, GO HABS GO!!

bittergirlhabsfan

May 1, 2013

Aww, that’s so sweet, I’ll get book 3 going as soon as I can! And after last night’s game, maybe I don’t have to worry too much about the Leafs doing well in the playoffs while I’m away 😉

Romi

May 2, 2013

Congratulations on getting those suitcases shut! I would be the same way. I am SOOOO excited for you. I would love to live in Paris for awhile. (I was hoping there would be room for me to hide in your suitcase, but I see that is definitely not the case.)

Caddy Rowland

May 1, 2013

Haha Caddy, unless you are a tiny human, no I can’t fit you in the suitcase ;-). And thank you!

Romi

May 2, 2013

Romi! I commented earlier but am not sure if it posted. Like I said, maintenant, tu vies la vie que j’aurai! Did you know I was a French teacher? That’s my bread and butter job. Good luck, bonne chance, mon amie! Et je suivrai ton blog!
Allez, bisous!

bisiadjapon

May 1, 2013

Hi Bisi, I didn’t see the earlier comment, and I didn’t know you were a French teacher! Merveilleux! Et merci! 🙂

Romi

May 2, 2013

Man, I though you were gone for sure, but October signals the comeback to Canada. I´m very proud of you, Romi-cakes, for living the bohemian existence most of us are too chicken, lazy or (insert another lame adjective here) to accomplish, that actually will produce results: a new book!

theduffboy

September 4, 2013

Thanks! Been back for almost two months now but the beat goes on; writing and writing some more, onto the next adventure 😉

Romi

December 13, 2013

Hey, just downloaded the sequels to my Wattpad. Enjoying Last Minute Love!

theduffboy

December 16, 2013

Aww great! Glad you’re enjoying it 🙂 (or were, I know this comment is from ages ago 😉 )

Romi

April 17, 2014

I did! Don’t worry :0)

theduffboy

April 23, 2014

2 notes

  1. Blogging From…PARIS! First Confessional | Confessions of a Chick in Paris reblogged this and added:

    […] I’d have no problem with a stroll around the corner, but remember the luggage from my previous post? And don’t forget to add a laptop bag to the mix.  He stared at me blankly, and suddenly my […]

  2. Paris: Be Who The Hell You Want To Be! | Confessions of a Chick in Paris reblogged this and added:

    […] was for me, and it involved: sitting on café terraces, wearing scarves (you know this is true, look how many scarves I brought to Paris!), gradually running out of money because there’s something bohemian and romantic about that […]

