Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Dreamaholics Anonymous script: the 1st ten pages…in Paris!

May 23, 2014 , , , , , , , , , , ,

eiffelA writer’s work day is a vast and varied thing. I will never call it difficult or noble, when society’s full of people doing tougher and nobler things, but it entails all kinds of “work” you might not associate with a writer’s job.

Like…for example…spending a solid hour reading through links and watching tutorials on how to embed a PDF into a wordpress.com page, which resulted in a bevy (yes, bevy) of conflicting info on whether or not embedding is possible unless you upgrade to wordpress.org, and the eventual realization that all I had to do was get a Scribd account and upload my file through there…the end result being a lovely string of code with magical embedding powers.

(I fell asleep as I was typing that; and you?)

It’s entirely possible that it took me an hour to figure out the above ’cause I’m a moron, so fine, with my personal brain capacity as a qualifier: the above was an hour of solid WORK. Another thing you might not associate with a writer’s job is Googling the term “speedballing,” but that’s for my next book so don’t even worry about it, mmkay? Back to the PDF embedding…below are the first ten pages of my screenplay Dreamaholics Anonymous! Nine of these ten pages take place in Paris, so HELLO, very applicable to this blog, wink wink! (unlike my last post on mannequin kneecaps, which had nothing to do with Paris but was gripping nonetheless). It’s a dramatic comedy with some romance, not a romantic comedy (there’s a difference, I swear), and I hope you enjoy this kick-off to a tale which can quickly be described as such:  “When a fledgling writer gets tricked into committing to an “AA style” group for dreamers, she must decide whether to give up or keep the dream alive, amidst the preachings of a tyrannical group leader, a domineering family, and an unexpected romance within the group.”

Page ten may not get you to that “AA style” group for dreamers plot point, but play your cards right and maybe I’ll share some more. Or maybe let’s get a producer on board! Or maybe, most likely, I eventually get my friends to act it all out with convincing props. Right now this script is in screenplay contest limbo, since all the big contests won’t be be posting any results until July or August (if I make the next round of even one of those contests I’ll allow myself a guilt-free bowl of “double-churned” (can’t you just hear the fat?) ice cream). Until then an “honourable mention” a.k.a. third place at the 2014 LA Reel Film Festival is a nice little boost, as I get myself back into book-writing mode with “Paris Anyone? How to Bring Your Dream Trip to Life” (working title), which is an edgy and useful guidebook with some personalized reflections. It’s also the book where the speedballing reference will go! (except that is NOT a personalized reflection)

I should go then, so many more technological writer things to learn! letterR2

PS: I hope you enjoy the first ten pages of the script, and I hope the Paris descriptions help you picture a movie in your head…

PPS: invariably this PDF won’t embed properly in certain browsers, to which I offer you an empathetic sigh…

PPPS: PRO TIP: if you zoom-in the view in your browser it’s a little easier to read. I’m such a tech pro, I can’t even stand it..

View this document on Scribd
What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I emailed you awhile ago about your writing and did not receive a response. I was quite disappointed because I usually don’t take that leap and write to an author after reading their material. Maybe it went to spam, who knows.

ordinaryquitecontrary

June 2, 2014

Hi! I have your e-mail; I received it 4 weeks ago, and I give myself a 2-month window to answer all e-mails from readers. I wish I could reply faster, but I want each of my responses to be personalized which takes a bit longer especially when there are questions from the reader, and given all the other writing things and business e-mails relating to deadlines, there are only certain times I can sit down and focus on answering reader e-mails. I hope you see this so you know you’re not being ignored, and I’ll be sending a response within the next few weeks!

Romi

June 2, 2014

I appreciate you responding. It’s good to know i’m not being ignored and I think it’s great that you take the time to personalize each email that is sent your way. Sorry for using your comment box on this post to reach you. I’m still getting used to the layout of wordpress and where everything is. It doesn’t seem very navigator friendly.

ordinaryquitecontrary

June 3, 2014

No problem, I’m glad you saw this, and I’ll get back to you by e-mail as soon as I can!

Romi

June 3, 2014

