Confessions of a Chick in Paris

Confessions of a Chick in Paris

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Second Jaunt in Paris: Even Better Than the Last…?

July 29, 2014 , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC00147Someone I used to know right down to the soul but who I don’t even talk to anymore (great gossip teaser, right?) once said to me: “Don’t come back to Paris next year, that’s boring. Go somewhere new.” My first reaction was: “bitch pleeeeeease…you don’t even KNOW me, since I’m very confrontational and also an Aries. My second reaction was to slightly agree with this idea of going somewhere new, but my third reaction was a fist pump to my deeply thought-out artistic and “next project” reasons for returning to Paris, all of which are cited here.

So I returned…and it’s been three and a half weeks…and it’s been so damn great that I haven’t even had a chance to blog or tweet about it properly…the horror! (there’s a lesson in here about stopping to smell the roses, and I’m happy to report that I stopped to smell the literal roses in the Rodin sculpture gardens this past Thursday).

Take last week for example: some visiting Canadian pals and I walked  50km in Paris over the course of five days…this is a conservative approximation. Meanwhile, Paris has a 10km radius from east to west, so…not large by any means. MEANWHILE…throughout our jaunts, we kept experiencing new and different things! This is the beauty of Paris, my friends…good old-fashioned DENSITY. There is always a different café to try, always a random museum you haven’t been to, and always a cool new bar where you and the bartender make a deal that every cocktail must include a complimentary shot. It never gets old, and if I’m somehow to remember this all for the purposes of a future Paris-centric book aimed at future Paris travellers, I need a comprehensive spreadsheet that incorporates the categories, the neighbourhoods, and the detailed personal impressions.

So yes…my latest book is being drafted within the confines of a spreadsheet, but I assure you it is pivot-table free. I’ve never drafted a book in such a weird rigid format, but somehow it’s very freeing, because as soon as I plop it all in there I’m free to experience the next thing, and I know I can organize it later. Like the bakery with no name on the front that sells the most amazing coconut ice cream that has ever hit my lips. PLOP. Or that corner café in the 10th arrondissement where the price is good, the tourists are non-existent, and you can actually taste the coffee through the froth of the café creme (instead of the plain old milky warmth that many cafés dish out). PLOP. Or this random little bar in the 4th arrondissement where you climb the stairs and you’re suddenly in your own secluded lounge, right next to a window overlooking the street. PLOP. So many plops!  I’ve barely even scratched the surface in this post, but fear not, my spreadsheet knows all…

Another added bonus (which isn’t even spreadsheet-related) is making new friends on a second jaunt in Paris, when you didn’t even expect to make new friends, since you were already returning to people you know and love. And yet…within the aisles of Paris Ikea (not very Parisian, I know), you find yourself growing closer and closer to a friend of a friend, and thinking “How have we not been friends our whole lives?! Let’s hang out EVERY DAY!!!” Yeah…Paris seems to have a knack for new encounters (as long as you’re not a socially-awkward shut-in who blogs…wait, what?…)

I should probably get back to doing my Paris thang, but not before including some photo action below. Oh and by the way, remember when I shared the first ten pages of a screenplay I wrote this year, and said I’d be happy to advance in just one contest? Well somehow I made the top 20 finalists of the 2014 Script Pipeline contest, out of over 3,500 entries! I found out I made it three days before my flight to Paris, so let’s just say it was one big high before another. The best part of all is that the finalists get an over-the-phone script consult and actual assistance in shaping their work for potential industry introductions. There are no guarantees, of course, but even in the few e-mails I’ve exchanged with the contest director, I can safely say that the writer dream lives on…or maybe it’s not even a dream, I mean I’m doing it, right? Needless to say, I’m so glad I didn’t give up on writing after spending last year in Paris; in fact it was only the beginning…

letterR2

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 1.02.58 AM

The café from the movie “Before Sunset.” Yes it exists and yes a glass of wine is reasonably-priced and yes the co-owner who works there is the nicest lady with the biggest smile, so who said Parisians weren’t friendly?!

 

DSC00556

Many people think “doing” the Eiffel Tower means climbing atop it and checking out the view of Paris, but if you haven’t had a picnic in front of the Eiffel Tower until the wee hours, I’m not sure if you’ve actually done it right (and if you think French people don’t like the Eiffel Tower, let me tell you that 90% of the conversations you’ll hear during a nighttime picnic will be in French—> you also may or may not be serenaded by Corsicans with guitars…)

eiffel

When it comes to day trips outside of Paris, if you don’t hate crowds, you’ll probably end up in Versailles. If you do hate crowds, you’ll find yourself here, at amazing Fontaine Bleu.

DSC00469

 

DSC00463

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

romi – your exploits give me SUCH a lift – I always feel buoyant about Possibility after I read your posts. Just sayin’…:o)

vermonter

July 30, 2014

wow vermonter, that means a lot, seriously passing along buoyancy is an honour! 🙂

Romi

September 15, 2014

I wish you all the best in the Pipeline contest..

Thanks Tshenelle! That contest led to a great phone call with the contest directors who encouraged me to write a TV pilot which I just finished; hoping it gets some attention now…fingers crossed!

Romi

September 15, 2014

You rock… You know that?? I love reading you. So close, hop and personal, yet funny and fresh. I really think your mind is like, super sharp. “How have we not been friends our whole lives?! Let’s hang out EVERY DAY!!!”.

Alvin Monarrez

July 30, 2014

Alvin I love reading this comment from you from July 30th, it’s amazing how far we’ve come since then, eh? 🙂

Romi

September 15, 2014

I meant Up, not hop… Although… we need to “hop” all over Paris darling 😀

Alvin Monarrez

July 30, 2014

I try not to be crass when commenting, but after reading this post I can’t help myself.
FUCK NO! The “writer dream” is NO LONGER A DREAM!
And thanks for no pivot tables.
So glad you’re enjoying your time in boring old Paris.
🙂 ♥

David

July 31, 2014

David, it was a nice old time in boring old Paris, and I mean…technically the writing dream continues to evolves, as certain parts of it become life, to be replaced with new and bigger goals 😉

Romi

September 15, 2014

